Hall Named First Team All-Star

On the same night he was named NHL MVP, winning the Hart Memorial Trophy at the NHL Awards, Taylor Hall took home another honor.

He was named to the NHL’s first team All-Star squad. Hall was named the left wing on the team with 644 points (105 first place votes, 36 second place votes and 11 third place votes).

Hall joined Connor McDavid of the Oilers (center), Nikita Kucherov of the Lightning (right wing), Victor Hedman – Lightning (defense), Drew Doughty (Kings, defense) and Pekka Rinne (Predators – goalie) as the first All-Star team.

The second team consisted of Connor Hellebuyck (Jets – goalie), PK Subban (Predators – defense), Seth Jones (Blue Jackets – defense), Blake Wheeler (Jets – right wing), Nathan MacKinnon (Avalanche – center) and Claude Giroux (Flyers – left wing). Giroux finished behind Hall with 368 points (28 first place, 66 second place and 30 third place votes).

For Hall, this is his first selection to the first postseason All-Star team. There were a lot of first timers on these teams. MacKinnon made his first second team, as did Giroux, Wheeler and Hellebuyck. For McDavid, this is his second career first team, Kucherov made his first first team (he made a second team as well in his career). Hedman made his first first team (he made also made one second team as well). Doughty made his second first team (he also has two second team selections under his belt). Subban made his first second team and has made two first teams in the past. Jones made his first second team.

Congratulations to Taylor Hall and and all of the NHL’s postseason All-Stars.